English majors are important people, too

If I had a dollar for every time I heard English majors never get a job, I’d be rich. And, if I had a dollar for every time someone asked me, “Oh, you’re teaching, right? Cause that’s all you can do with an English degree,” I’d likewise be rich.

 

But English majors can do more, and they do indeed do more.

 

Just take a look at some of the English majors I found through a few simple google searches.

 

Singer Sting was an English major, and, in fact, a school teacher before he became the spectacular international superstar he is known as now. Sticking with celebrities, Conan O’Brien was a double history and English major at Harvard. Believe it or not, Steven Spielberg was an English major for a while too.

 

I have always personally thought of the English major as a degree that allows us to receive intensive thinking and writing tools other majors cannot receive with the rest of their content. Thus, when we choose to learn another skill or specialty, we are that much more prepared to go to work with excellent tools in hand.

 

English majors have become successful in politics. For example, Mitt Romney, CEO of Bain Capital, was an English major at BYU, while former Governor Mario Cuomo of New York was an English major at St. John’s. Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas was an English major at Holy Cross College too.

 

The list goes on and on. Excellence from English majors in broadcasting, politics, law, entertainment, and really in any field. I myself look forward to a successful career in business with a critical reading capacity and writing technique likely surpassing that of my peers, and I know it will help me greatly in our constantly shrinking international business landscape.

 

I cannot sit here and attempt to convince anyone that the English major leads to immense wealth, granted I believe that would be hard for most majors, but I can say that the major gears its students for a lifetime of understanding many simply miss.

 

Every time I see things like lack of parallel structure or hanging participles or continuous errors in many different outlets, I always think to myself: an English major would not have missed that. They have the tools for that job.

 

Contact the writer: pcapoccia@m.marywood.edu

 

Leave a Reply

