Commenting on Craft: Part Six

Megan McDonnell takes an assignment from her capstone class (ENGL 495 Senior Seminar) and makes it her own. Be sure to read more of her blog if you enjoy hearing a writer write about writing. And who doesn’t get inspired by all that meta-energy?! It may inspire you to connect your own outside-of-class blogging to your academic reading and writing self….At the very least, I know you will enjoy the puns. 🙂

The Ugly Truth

There are lots of otherpartstothisseries. (It reflects the fact that research really is a never-ending process. Maybe that’s just how it feels from where I’m standing.)

Today’s installment is about intros and conclusions. I’m to a point in my life where I love writing introductions because it’s the only way I can give myself a blueprint to follow. Anymore I write an intro for me, not my readers. Conclusions, though? I still suck at conclusions. Because of that, I’m going to choose my quotes from the section on writing conclusions. Makes sense, right?

You may be happy to know that you can write your conclusion using the same elements in your introduction, in reverse order.

That’s all well and good, but that puts me in a trap where my conclusion sounds too formulaic and too similar to my introduction. I understand it’s good to have…

View original post 172 more words

Leave a Reply

